FEdA Conference

  • Date: 09.-11.11.2022

European conference for the conservation of biodiversity

Biowawi
The "wartbiter" can be heard in biodiverse meadows with tall grasses. Photo by Moritz Paysan.

BioWaWi's Citizen Science project was presented online at the European Biodiversity Conservation Conference "Biodiversity and Human Well-Being - Europe's Role in Shaping Our Future" (Organized by FEdA - BMBF Research Initiative on Biodiversity Conservation) and received a great response!

Titled "BioWaWi-Citizen Science: Monitoring Biodiversity by Use of Crowd-Sourced Sound Data", the presentation is also available online (link:FEdA_Biodiversity - YouTube).

Dr. Gisela Wachinger and Wiebke Hebermehl (DIALOGIK gGmbH, Germany) together with Dr. Flavia Digiacomo (Project Coordination BioWaWi) and Dr. Lisa Gill (Cooperation Partner Dawn Chorus) prepared and presented the talk.

The key messages of the talk are:

  1. Habitat monitoring is not possible with conventional methods: too slow, too scattered. Sound files seem to be a new and better representation of biodiversity in relation to land use.
  2. The combination of Citizen Science (global participation of people with local knowledge) and AI-based Big Data processing has the potential to take habitat monitoring to a new level, both quantitatively and qualitatively.
  3. Crowd-sourced sound monitoring for biodiversity could be the solution for government agencies, policy makers, and educators to raise environmental awareness, identify endangered habitats, and protect biodiversity.

FEdA Konferenz

  • Datum: 09.-11.11.2022

Europäischen Tagung zum Erhalt der Artenvielfalt

Biowawi
Den „Warzenbeißer“ hört man in biodiversen Wiesen mit hohem Gras. Foto von Moritz Paysan.

Das Citizen Science Projekt von BioWaWi wurde auf der Europäischen Tagung zum Erhalt der Artenvielfalt "Biodiversity and Human Well-Being – Europe’s Role in Shaping Our Future“ (Organisiert von FEdA - BMBF Forschungsinitiative zum Erhalt der Artenvielfalt) online vorgestellt und hat großes Echo gefunden!

Unter dem Titel “BioWaWi-Citizen Science: Monitoring Biodiversity by Use of Crowd-Sourced Sound Data” ist der Vortrag auch online abrufbar (link :FEdA_Biodiversität - YouTube).

Dr. Gisela Wachinger und Wiebke Hebermehl (DIALOGIK gGmbH, Germany) haben gemeinsam mit Dr. Flavia Digiacomo (Projektkoordination BioWaWi) und Dr. Lisa Gill (Kooperationspartner Dawn Chorus) den Vortrag vorbereitet und präsentiert.

Die Kernbotschaften des Vortrags sind:

  1. Mit herkömmlichen Methoden ist die naturschutzfachliche Überwachung von Lebensräumen in der eigentlich angestrebten räumlichen und zeitlichen Auflösung kaum möglich. Tondateien könnten eine neue und bessere Darstellung der Artenvielfalt als eine Eigenschaft von Landschaftseinheiten ermöglichen.
  2. Die Kombination von Citizen Science (weltweite Beteiligung von Personen mit lokalen Kenntnissen) und KI-basierter Big Data-Verarbeitung hat das Potenzial, die Überwachung von Lebensräumen auf ein neues Niveau zu heben, sowohl in quantitativer als auch in qualitativer Hinsicht. 
  3. Ein Crowd-Sound-Monitoring für Biodiversität könnte die Lösung für Behörden, Politik und Bildung sein, um das Umweltbewusstsein zu steigern, gefährdete Lebensräume zu erkennen und die Biodiversität zu schützen.